BibRave Product Review: AfterShokz Sportz Titanium Headphones 

Disclaimer: I received a pair of Aftershokz Sportz Titanium Headphones to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

Some may remember, a little less than a year ago, I tested out the AfterShokz Trekz Titanium Headphones.  They quickly became my favorite headphones and had no plans to ever tryout another headphone.  The only time I go back to listening to anything with earbuds are when I forget to take my Trekz Titanium Headphones to work.  Then came the chance to try out the AfterShokz Sportz Titanium Headphones.  

https://youtu.be/ZxFmscl1yKU unboxing of the AfterShokz Sportz Titanium Headphones 

The big difference between the Trekz Titanium Headphones and Sportz Titanium Headphones is the Sportz are not wireless.  Other than that, the bone conduction. technology is the same.  For those who did not read my review of the Trekz, bone conduction technology is when the vibrations coming from the headphones goes into your jaw bone and not directly into your ears.  It allows you to hear everything that is going on around you. Of course, if you turn your music or podcast up too high, you can still block out everything around you but that defeats the purpose of AfterShokz. 

Wearing the Sportz Titanium headphones at work.

The Sportz Titanium headphones do require a charge, which suprised me. It did come with a USB cord for charging.  The charge does hold for a long time.  It will hold even longer if you remember to turn them off when not in use.  This is the one thing I constantly forgot.  That being said, even while leaving them on, at most I had to charge them once a week.  

I didn’t even notice that the back had a reflective strip on the back.  Added bonus! 

https://youtu.be/U83nECXzQCc full video product review 

The Sportz Titanium fit comfortably and probably because the battery component of the headphones are based at the end of the cord, are lighter than the Trekz Titanium.  Even with my Merino Wool Buff, the headphones fit comfortable under the Buff. 

My only negative I would give the about the Sportz Titanium Headphones is the battery pack thing.  It’s not too big but it’s one more thing to stuff away while on a run.  Also, if you are like me and use an Orange Mud Hydraquiver, they have a slot in the hydraquiver that allows for headphone cords to go in to where your whine is stored.  Due to the battery pack, you can’t put the cord through the slot.  

For me personally, I prefer the Trekz Titanium model.  However, if you are unsure of the bone conduction technology (which I love) and don’t want to pay $129.95, then give the Sportz Titanium model a shot. The price of the Sportz Titanium is $59.95.  And if you order HERE (the Sportz Titanium model) and you will receive an awesome stainless steel water bottle.  No matter which model you get, you will love the quality and how you are able to hear what’s going on around you. 

One thought on “BibRave Product Review: AfterShokz Sportz Titanium Headphones 

Leave a comment