Week in Training (February 13-19)

*Disclaimer: my workouts are designed specially for me by my coach, Jake Gillette. I will be giving you some general ideas of what I did over the last week, but not all the specifics since they are designed to meet the level I am at, for what my goals are, and it is also my coaches business.  

Family run

Race week is here again.  Saturday I will be going back to Chicago, with Tina with me this time, for the Mardi Gras 10k.  10k is not my favorite race distance, but it’s better than a 5k.  It will be nice to race again after about 4 weeks of just training.  

Last weeks training went alright with still cooler temps but a warm up in the future.  

  • Monday: 6 mile recovery from the 20 mile run
  • Tuesday: 8 miles with intervals
  • Wednesday: 6 miles recovery 
  • Thursday: 8 miles with a couple miles at a marathon pace and a mile at 10k pace
  • Friday: 8 miles easy
  • Saturday: 12 mile “long run”
  • Sunday: 0 miles rest day.
  • Weekly total: 48 miles
  • February total: 128
  • 2017 total 357.73

The hardest workout was Thursday but I was able to get my miles at close to goal times.  Next week will consist of a speed workout on Tuesday, with easy days the rest of the week before the Mardi Gras Chaser 10k.  I will even get a day off leading up to the race to get the legs ready.  Stay tuned for my per race blog! 

Upcoming Races

Mardi Gras Chaser 10k in Chicago benefitting Back on My Feet on February 25th (use code “RAVE” to save $5 on registration)

Glass City Half Marathon (register using code “brpsavings” to save $5) in Toledo, OH

 The Hall of Fame Marathon in Canton, OH

Davids Run for Autism in Nappanee, IN

Vermont City Marathon (use code “BibRaveDSCT” to save $5 on registration.). 

2 thoughts on “Week in Training (February 13-19)

  1. What’s your favorite race distance? Anywhere between a 10k and 10 miler is the sweet spot for me. Then the wheels sorta fall off a little. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

