Training Recap June 19-July 9 and Rock N Roll Chicago preview

Yep, that’s right, I slacked on my training recaps again.  I really wanted to get one done before I went on vacation, but once that didn’t happen, I knew I wouldn’t do one until I got home.  So here it is, once again, 3 week in one post.

June 19-25

  • Monday:  11 miles east
  • Tuesday: 6.8 miles
  • Wednesday: 7 miles Recovery 
  • Thursday: 7.5 miles speed work 
  • Friday: 8 miles easy
  • Saturday: 12 mile long run
  • Sunday: off

Monday I was only scheduled to do 6 miles but Tina wanted to run in the evening, we didn’t have any of the kids that night, so I went on a 5 mile run with her.  Tuesday was 2 miles easy, 1 mile hard, 2 miles easy.  Tuesday evening I ran the 3k Reith Run with Emma over in Goshen.  She ran a 3k PR that day and I know she can go faster. 

Total for the week: 52.3 miles
June 26-July 2

  • Monday: 8 easy
  • Tuesday: 7.1miles. 2 mile warmup, 5k of intervals, 2 mile cooldown
  • Wednesday: 8 miles easy
  • Thursday: 7.5 miles of intervals
  • Friday: 6 miles 
  • Saturday: off
  • Sunday: 8 miles

Saturday’s run was pushed back to Sunday due to traveling all day on Friday, and spending the night in an area where I really couldn’t find any good places to run. 

Total for the week: 44.6 miles

Total for June: 173.7 miles

July 3-9

  • Monday: 6 miles easy
  • Tuesday: 6 miles under 42 minutes
  • Wednesday: 0 miles
  • Thursday: 0 miles
  • Friday: 7 miles
  • Saturday: 0 miles
  • Sunday: 5.61 miles

Kids on one of our hikes

The week of vacation makes getting workouts in but at the same time, it’s also a week to recover some.  Wednesday and Thursday, I skipped my runs due tonus leaving our resort early to get some hiking in at the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Throughout the week, we did over 18 miles of hiking, which may not seem that much but with 3 kids (ages 10, 9, and 4) I think we did pretty good.  The hills in Tennessee killed me over the week just as much as the humidity. I am not sure I got the recovery as I was hoping for. I went on vacation with sore lower legs and came back with sore upper and lower legs. 

Total for week: 24.61

Total for July: 24.61

Total for 2017: 1129.27 miles

Goals for the Rock N’ Roll Chicago Half

Sunday morning is race day. Tina and I will both be running.  Looks like temps will be in the mid 60s, maybe even 70 at the start and climb from there. Looks like it will be humid as well. Real fun… Anyways, this will not be a PR day for me. Come on, it’s a half marathon in July! I have never raced a half marathon in the middle of summer. This will also be my first ever Rock N’ Roll race, we will see if it lives up to the hype. 

My goal for the race is simple, run under 1:30. My legs just feel trashed from the running and hiking I have been doing so I don’t expect a lot better than 1:30, and I am ok with that. This is not a goal race for me. 
Upcoming Races

  • July 16 Chicago Rock N Roll Half Marathon 
  • July 23 Parade 5000 Goshen, IM
  • July 29 B Strong 5k Bremen, IN
  • October 8th: Chicago Marathon
  • October 29: Hot Chocolate Run Chicago 15k (use code BRHCCHI17 for Bonus SWAG)
  • November 4th: Indianapolis Monumental Marathon
  • More races and discounts to come in the near future! 
Leave a Reply

