Race Review: David’s Run for Autism

The third annual David’s Run for Autism was held on May 6th, 2017. It was a cool buy sunny morning, with temps in the low 40s but did warm up as the morning went on. Race was held in Napanee, Indiana. 

This was the second time I have run Davids Run.  I ran the first back in 2015 and missed it last year due to running the Wisconsin Marathon.  David’s Run for Autism is run by Noah Price and his family.  Noah’s brother, David has Autism.  It amazes me the love and support that David has for his brother.  As a high school student and athlete, to take the time to put this race together says a lot for where Noah’s heart is at. Check out the Autism Through a Brothers Eye Facebook PageNoah (left) and David (right) starting off the 5k run.

Davids Run offers 2 distances, a 5k and a 3k with overall awards and age group awards for both races.  Tina and I registered for the 5k.  We actually registered the girls as well but they ended up having pictures for softball on race morning.  Luckily my dad was able to take the girls to picture day so that we could still run.  

With that all being said, we still had our 4 year old son, Derek, with us.  I knew I wasn’t going to win, after all, I ran a marathon last weekend. So I decided I would run the 5k pushing Derek.  If nothing else, I could get a new 5k while pushing a jogging stroller.  Truthful, it’s the only time I have ever pushed a stroller in a race. But I will welcome a new PR.  It’s been over 2 years since I ran a PR in any race distance.  

The race started at 9:00 following announcements made by Noah and a couple of guest speakers.  Knowing that I didn’t have much in my legs, I did take it easy at the beginning, allowing others to take it out faster.  Plus I had a stroller and was trying not to run over anyone.  

I was pretty successful with avoiding hitting anyone with the stroller until about a half mile in when a kids (guessing maybe a freshmen in high school) cut me off in a turn.  I didn’t hit him but came real close to hitting his heal with my front tire.  Other than that, the race ran smoothly for me.  My splits: 

  1. 6:40
  2. 6:51
  3. 6:36

My finishing time was 20:44.  Not fast for me by any means but after a marathon a pushing a stroller, not bad.  Good enough for 6th overall and first in my division.  

Post race refreshments included cookies, bananas, and bottled water. There was also a fire truck present for kids to get a closer look as well as some games, face painting, and balloons for kids.  

Noah has done a great job with this event over the past 3 years.  Noah will be attending Indiana University Purdue Univeristy Fort Wayne in the fall.  Good luck Noah! 

Leave a Reply

