Preview of the Vermont City Marathon

“Disclaimer: I received a free entry to the Vermont City Marathon race as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

With the Pro football Hall of Fame marathon behind me, it is now time to focus on the Vermont city Marathon. With only having 14 days of recovery so far from my last marathon it’s hard to say what my body will be like in 14 days. In the last 14 days I’ve had a couple of workouts where leg turnover was key but nothing too difficult. There has been a lot of focus on recovery. My original plan was to not necessarily care about my time at the Vermont city Marathon, however after a poor performance at the Pro Football Marathon I would like to get under three hours and 10 minutes and get another Boston qualifier. 

This will be a 16 hour trip to drive to Burlington Vermont. The whole family will be coming along. Well, kind of. See my brother-in-law and his family live in northern Vermont. The plan is to drive through the night Friday night, May 26, and arrive at his house at around noon hopefully. Unfortunately we cannot leave home until around 3 PM because my wife will still be teaching that day. Both of us will be taking turns driving through the night. This is obviously not the best set up for a great race, but with limited time to travel that’s our only option.

This is really the first marathon that I have not tried to break three hours. The goal for Vermont City will be just to break three hours and 10 minutes. This means I will have to run on average 7:15 miles. Seems like a much easier task than trying to run 6:50 miles like I was 2 weeks ago. 

The course does feature a lot of rolling hills and one major hill at the beginning of mile 16. If I can make it through mile 16 feeling good I feel confident that I will get another Boston qualifier. 

What am I looking forward to:

  1. Race in a new state. I have been to Vermont before but it’s probably been 20 years or so, and I have never ran a race there before. The great thing about being a BibRave pro is that it has offered me the opportunity to run races in different states that I may not have even considered before.  Also having family in Vermont doesn’t hurt either. 
  2. Crowd support: I have watched a few videos on YouTube featuring the Vermont city Marathon and quite a few of them show a lot of girls support. I believe this race will have around 7000 runners in it. So there should be a lot of people out sharing and supporting your family and friends.
  3. Meeting new BibRave Pros: it is always Great to meet in person runners who you have gotten to know through social media. 
  4. Taiko Drummers: alright, so I hate hills, but right before the big hill right after mile 15 is the Taiko Drummers.  Who are the Taiko Drummers? Check out this YouTube video to find out.  I am counting on this to get me up this hill! 
  5. Beautiful Views!: the last few miles run right along Lake Champlain.  

Want to join me? You still have time to register! Use code BIBRAVE10 to save $10 on registration! Hope to see you in Burlington Memorial Day Weekend! 

Leave a Reply

