Weekly Training Recap: April 10-16

*Disclaimer: my workouts are designed specially for me by my coach, Jake Gillette. I will be giving you some general ideas of what I did over the last week, but not all the specifics since they are designed to meet the level I am at, for what my goals are, and it is also my coaches business.

  • Monday: 6 miles easy
  • Tuesday: 7 miles of intervals
  • Wednesday: 6 miles easy
  • Thursday: 8 mile tempo
  • Friday: 8 miles easy
  • Saturday: 10 mile long run
  • Sunday: rest day

Total for the week: 45 miles

Total for April so far: 112.5

Total for 2017: 637.33

Nothing too exciting about this week in training.  I have had some sore calf muscles lately so I have really been working the Roll Recovery R8 on them lately which seems to be helping a lot.  I have also noticed I have not been drinking as much water as I have in the past and am wondering if that is playing a factor as well.

On my easy runs, I have been focusing on hitting my miles at 7:48-7:55 which is the goal for Derek at the Glass City (Half) Marathon this Sunday.  If you have not read my previous training updates, I will hopefully be pacing Derek to a half marathon PR and getting under 1:43.  

Derek and I have been talking strategy for Sunday.  As I said, we are aiming for 7:48-7:55 miles.  The first mile or so we may end up running slower and we wont panic if that happens.  Also we can’t panic if we run a mile faster than 7:48.  Hopefully the last couple miles we will be able to finish strong on Sunday.  Lastly, there are a couple hills.  I told Derek that we will not use any more energy in the up hills as we do on the flat sections.  So for short periods of time, we may run 8:00 miles or slower.  We can make up for that on the down hills. 

On Saturday, I actually got out and did my 10 miles witha group of guys.  If you know me well, this is a rare event as I usually run alone.  But it was nice to run with others for a change and as I find myself at home on Saturdays, I will try to continue to do so.  

Upcoming Races


  • April 23 Glass City Half Marathon in Toledo, OH 
  • April 29 Maple Syrup Festival 5k
  • April 30 The Hall of Fame Marathon in Canton, OH
  • May 6 Davids Run for Autism in Nappanee, IN
  • May 28 Vermont City Marathon (use code “BibRaveDSCT” to save $5 on registration.). 
  • July 16 Chicago Rock N Roll Half Marathon (use code BIBRAVE 15 to save $15 on registration)

More races and discounts to come in the near future! 

Leave a Reply

