Glass City Marathon Preview

“Disclaimer: I received a free entry to the Glass City Marathon race as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”


The 2017 Glass City Marathon, Half Marathon, and 5k is less than 9 days away and I am pumped. The races will all start and finish on the campus of Toledo University in Toledo, OH.  I will not be racing this one hard, instead will be pacing my friend Derek Jager to a new half marathon PR.  Glass City has always been a race I have been interested in running in the but just never have.  I signed up to run this race knowing that my goal Marathon was a week later, so if I was going to do Glass City at all, it was going to be the half and I was going to have to try to take it easy.  When I heard Derek was planning on running it, I knew I found my way of controlling my pace. So that’s my plan for the race.

This is the 41st year of this race, and given all the emails and social media updates, they have got this running like a fine tuned machine.  So what should be expected race weekend? 

Expo

The Expo is free and open to the public and is held in the Savage Hall Sports Arena on Saturday, April 22 from 9:00am-5:00pm.  Here you will pick up your packet for the race, can purchase official race merchandise and visit 50 different vendors.  I love expos.  Probably love them too much.  I like seeing all the new shiny running stuff that is out there.  Check out all the expo vendors. For packet pickup, please bring a photo ID!  For first time marathoners, there will be a separate area for you! You will enjoy some extra race perks! 

Bring The Kids

On Saturday, April 22, there will be a kids fun run with different distances based on the kids ages.  Ages 2-3 will do a 1/4 mile, and kids ages 4-12 can choose between a 1/2 mile and mile.  Here is the great part, it’s only $10.  Participants will receive a shirt, medal, and teddy bear.  You can register your kids Online or at the expo until 11:30am.  All proceeds will go to the Mercy Children’s Hospital. 

Race Day

Check out the following details on what you need to know on the following links:

Race day schedule is as follows:

  • Sunday, April 23, 2017
  •  Wheelers Start – 7:00am
  • •Marathon, Half Marathon, & Relay Start – 7:02am
  • 5k Start – 7:15am
  • Post-race Party in UT Parking Lot #10


Registration

There is still time to register! Use code BRPSAVINGS to save $5 on registration! Register here!

Race day weather is looking fantastic! Temps at the start will be in the low 40s it looks like with temps nearing mid 50s at about the time of your finish, depending on what race you are running.  Come run Glass City with me on April 23rd! 

Leave a Reply

