As the Temps Go Up, Make Sure You Drink Up! Amphipod Hydraform Ergo-Lite Ultra Product Review

Disclaimer: I received am Amphipod Hydraform Ergo-Lite Ultra16oz to reviewas part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!
Well, here we are, the middle of June.  For those of us in the northern hemisphere, we are officially in the summer season and it is starting to heat up.  For runners, hydration is always important, but during the summer months, it is greatly important.  For whatever reason, mostly because of comfort probably, I really haven’t ran with water on my runs other than long runs.  This summer, I am changing that and carrying water on all my runs.

Over the past few weeks I have been using the Amphipod Hydraform Ergo-Lite Ultra hand held bottle.  I have tried other hand held bottles in the past and really have not been a fan of them.  There is the obvious of carrying extra weight in your hand and I found it awkward having a bottle in one hand and not the other.  It almost felt like I was off balance.  So I was somewhat hesitant to try out the Amphipod Hydraform Ergo-Lite Ultra but I put my past experiences behind me and gave it a chance. 

When given the opportunity to try out the Amphipod Hydraform Ergo-Lite Ultra, I was given the option of the 16oz or 20oz model.  I went with the 16oz bottle for the simple reason of weight.  4oz of water may not be that much extra weight but that was my thinking. 

The Amphipod Hydraform Ergo-Lite Ultra features a large pocket which is big enough to hold an IPhone 6 (the 20oz model can hold a 6+) plus another small pocket inside the large one that can hold extra cash.  If you don’t carry a phone, I am sure you can carry several gels in the pocket easily. 


Speaking of gels, the strap that goes around the back of your hand has a place for 3 gels.  This puts your gels within easy reach.  Also the strap is great.  It has a thumb hole which is comfortable and also allows the strap to fit more snug on your hand so that you don’t have to grip the bottle tight or at all.  


Probably my favorite feature of the bottle itself is the Jett-Squeeze cap.  You don’t have to worry about pulling a cap or top open, rather you just squeeze.   I really appreciate not having to fumble around with the cap, I can just easily get my fluids and continue on with my run. 

You don’t have to worry about spills or leaks at all with the Jett-Squeeze Cap.  

As far as my concerns of carrying extra weight when running and the awkwardness, it took some time getting used to the Amphipod Hydraform Ergo-Lite Ultra, but over time I have become more comfortable with it.  For me, it’s a good option for shorter runs and speed work this summer.  Any runs longer then I will need to plan my route to ensure there is a drinking fountain along the way. 

My only negative was that at times, the zipper got stuck a few times on the pocket.  It’s annoying but it is also the curse of anything with a zipper. 

How do you make sure that you are staying hydrated on your runs this summer? 

Leave a Reply

