Hydrate or Die! SPI Belt H2O Venture Product Review

Disclaimer: I received the The SPI H2O Venture Hydration Belt  to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (Ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!

Did you you know that it is technically against the rules in marathons (especially) to revive unofficial aid on the course unless you are carrying it? Meaning, you can not, according to the rules, receive any kind of aid from friends or family such as drinks or gels. Obviously, races are not going to monitor the common runners in this, but runners who were first to cross the finish line, have been disqualified for receiving unofficial aid. 

For me, I don’t like Gatorade, which is the common drink of choice provided by races around the country. So, if I want a drink I like or am comfortable with, it is up to me to carry it myself during a marathon. And let’s face it, if you don’t stay hydrated, very bad things can happen.  

I have tried quiet a few hydration belts throughout the years that I have been running. I have never had any luck finding one that I would consider comfortable or that does not bounce.  

Lately, I have been testing out the SPI Belt H2O Venture. SPI stands for Small Personal Item Belt. The SPI Belt H2O Venture offers a 2″ elastic belt and two 8oz bottles that hook onto the belt. Also included on the belt is a pocket that can hold a iPhone 6S Plus (or similar size phone) and WeatherGuard designed to protect your phone from the elements. It also has two loops to hold your gels, a reflective strip, and two bands to attach a race bib (these are not attached to the belt, so be careful not to lose them as I did). 
The SPI H2O Venture advertises as being bounce proof. Throughout the time that I tested I can say it did not bounce at all and kept steady. Also, you have the option of wearing the pouch in the front or back. I prefer the back. With the water bottle, since there is not a fixed location where the bottles have to go, you can hang them anywhere on the belt. Once again, I prefer the back side. Keeps them out of the way. 
Probably the one negative I have about the SPI Belt is that I struggle to put the bottle back into the belt. I like to be able to place it in with one hand, but it can be difficult to do so without reaching across my body to pull the belt away from my body to hook the bottle on.  I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a hydration belt for training or races that are s half marathon or less. I don’t believe that 16oz are enough for anything much longer. 


Gels fit in the loops very snug and won’t fall out!

If you would like to try the SPI Belt H2O Venture for yourself, there are a couple of ways that you can save some cash (who doesn’t like that?).  First, join #BibChat on Tuesday Night at 9:00 EST where one lucky chatter will win a belt for themselves.  Second, if you don’t win one, you can save 10% with code Mark10 at checkout!

Good luck and have a great run today!

Leave a Reply

