Fall Running

Today, with the first day of September, marks the unofficial start to my favorite running season, fall.  With September finally arriving, the races start to pick up. The cooler weather, the leaves turning colors makes fall the best time to run. I have not ran in a race since July 26th and that race did not go well for me, so it has been bothering me for a while.  Other things have taken over, such as my youngest daughters soccer schedule.  But soccer is now over and we are starting the fall racing season off with a bang.  Between me and my wife, we have races every weekend.

September 7th (Labor Day): Blueberry Stomp 15k hopefully I won’t make the same mistake as last year and eat 4 bratwursts the night before. Long story short, it cost me 45 seconds.   

September 12th: Mash The Creek 10k trail race (trail races are a little bit out of my comfort zone)

September 19th: Indy Women’s Half Marathon This will be Tina’s first half marathon.  Obviously, I will just be a spectator and supporting her at this one.

September 26th: Grand Lake Marathon this will be my 13th marathon, Tina will be running the 5k and Emma and Chloe will be finishing up their kids marathon, where they will run the last 1.2 miles of their 26.2 miles they ran over the summer. This will be my first attempt at breaking 2:55 in the marathon. 

And that’s just the start of fall, October is looking just as packed with other races, and volunteering at the Chicago Marathon at Aid Station number 3 (mile 5).  And all these races while still training for 2 more late fall marathons, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  It is my favorite time of the year. 

What running plans are in-store for you this fall?  Any big races? Any goals you are wanting to hit?  

Leave a Reply

