Marathon Training Through 10 Weeks

Leading up to the Boston Marathon, I would blog weekly about my training up to that point. I have been asked why I haven’t done so while training for my next marathon. So I figured,10 weeks into my training plan (6 to go), that this would be a good opportunity.  I will attempt to keep posting weekly on my training from here is n. 

The training plan that I am using this time around is the same that I used before Boston and my last few marathons.  The plan includes speed work and long runs.  The only thing that I am not doing that I did before Boston is seeking out more hills to run on. My 3 marathons I will be running this fall are primarily flat.

Truthfully, training for the Grand Lake Marathon (September 26) in Ohio has been up and down.  There have been periods of legs just feeling tight and struggling to keep moving, as well as periods of little motivation.  In a blog post I had written before this training plan began, I had stated the struggles of getting motivated after running my main goal race of the year, The Boston Marathon. The motivation at times are still lacking, but still want to run these marathons in a time under my BQ standard (which has recently become easier due to my recent birthday).

As mentioned, I have had a lot of recent tightness, especially in my right calf muscle. The Roll Recovery has been getting a lot of work lately.  The Roll Recovery may look painful, but man does it feel great.

 
At the end of the 10th week, the training plan calls for a half marathon race.  It was not possible to find a half marathon to run last weekend due to there not being any in the area and my daughter having a soccer game.  Instead, I did a mock half marathon on Sunday morning at 3:30 A.M.  Due to the early run, on my feet all day on Saturday, no aid (water) on the course, the time was less than impressive. Usually this half marathon is supposed to be a good measuring stick of where I am at, but I am not too worried about that. 

One of the things that has been lacking is races.  At this time it has been about 4 weeks since my last race and will be another 2.5 weeks until my next race at the Blueberry Stomp 15 on Labor Day. I have missed racing, but have also been able to do more running with my daughters especially on Tuesday nights.  

 The next few weeks will consist off adding a lot more mileage the the next 4 weekends consisting of long runs of 20-24 miles, and 2 speed workouts a week.  Hopefully they go smoothly and pain free. 

The goals for the next 3 marathons are to work my way down below a time of 2:55. I am not sure I will get that at Grand Marathon, but feel like it is more of a possibility at the Monumental Marathon on November 7th.  The last Marathon will be on November 14th, the Veterans Marathon. I would love to get all 3 marathons under 3:10 (new qualifying standard since I am now 34 years old, by the time I run my first marathon of the fall the qualifying window for the 2017 Boston Marathon will have started, and I will be 35 at the time of the 2017 Boston Marathon.  Follow all that? And this is all assimg that the qualifying standards don’t change). Obviously, that third marathon may be difficult to get a BQ with it being a week after Monumental. I am just hoping to hang some more medals in the BQ medal hanger.  

 

4 thoughts on “Marathon Training Through 10 Weeks

Leave a Reply

