Second Annual Bremen Firemen’s 5

I love small town races.  Give me a small town 5k/10k over a large 5k/10k any day. There is just more community involved. Last year, the Bremen Firemen’s 5 was held on Saturday, July 5 in the evening.  Some changes were made to the date, and a minor change to the course to make it an accurate 5k.  Just as last year, this race did not disappoint.  Proceeds from the race went to sending kids to Hoosier Burn Camp who are recovering from the trauma of burn injuries.  You can check out their website Here.

One of the big drawls to this event is the cash prizes for finishing in the top 3.  This year, the prize money was raised to $300 for 1st place, 2nd place $100, and 3rd place was $50.  Last year, I finished 4th place, one spot out of winning some money. 

  

 For the 2015, the race committee did a lot of radio advertisement and it seemed to help bring a lot more competition, including Olympic hopeful in the triathlon,  Kaleb VanOrt (former Notre Dame cross country and track athlete).  At that point, I figured my chances of winning any prize money was gone and I was right.  

First off though was the fun run mile.  Once again, Chloe was running in it.   

  Chloe in the light blue.

Chloe finished in a time of 12:04. It was not Chloe’s fastest mile but as I told her, you won’t always run a PR in every race you run in.  We are still working on her running a full mile without walking.  

 
The 5k race began at 8:00.  It was a perfect morning for a race.  Temps were in the low 60’s and very little, if any wind.

  

 Race was led by a fire truck (photo credit to the Firemen’s 5 Facebook page).
Race started, and the front runners took off early.  My goal was to run 5:47 miles and run under 18:00 for the first time in 2 years (maybe if I stopped focusing on marathons, I would do that more consistently, but that’s not happening). With this in mind, I knew I had to control my pace and run my own race. 

Mile splits were as followed:

1. 5:43

2.5:51

3. 5:54

    

  Luckily I was able to kick the last .1 of the race.  Coming around the last corner, I saw the clock ticking closer and closer to 18:00.  When I crossed, I hit my Garmin, which read 17:59.  Checking out the official result, it said 17:58 (we will go with that one). After starting as far back as it seemed like 17th or so, ended up finishing in 9th. Top finishers in the race were Kaleb VanOrt (14:46), Michael Jordan (15:06), and Justin Kowalski (15:48).  My 9th place finish was good enough to win the 30-34 age division.  

    
As far as the race itself, there really isn’t much to complain about.  Yeah, I would love to see a tech shirt over cotton, but I can’t complain too much.  The course is flat and fast with not too many turns, and great competition.  I would highly recommend this race for anyone in the Northern Indiana area.  I look forward to making this a 4th of July tradition in years to come.  

  

 My friend, Bill Mitschelen, who is a member of the Nappanee fire Department, ran the 5k in full firemen’s gear in 29:56.
Thank you for checking out my blog.  Make sure to like my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/daddydidyouwin, on Twitter @daddydidyouwin and on Instagram at Daddy_Did_You_Win

Leave a Reply

